Every state establishes its own minimum amounts of liability insurance. For Ohio auto insurance those limits are:
- $25,000 to cover the injuries or death to one person in the other vehicle or a pedestrian
- $50,000 to cover the injuries or death of more than one person in one accident
- $25,000 to cover the cost of damages to the other person’s car or damage to other property, such as a telephone pole, a fence, a traffic sign, or a building
You can always purchase higher amounts of insurance, but the list above shows what you must have in order to drive in the state of Ohio.
There is also optional Ohio auto insurance you may want to get for your car. Some of those include:
- Collision insurance – this will cover damages to your car received while in a car accident.
- Comprehensive – this coverage is to pay for damages to your car that were not because of a car accident, such as flooding, vandalism, or if someone were to steal it.
- Uninsured motorist coverage – this will cover the cost of damages that were caused by a person who does not have insurance coverage.
- Underinsured motorist coverage – when you are in an accident with a person who doesn’t have enough insurance to pay for the damages this insurance will kick in the difference.
- Towing and labor – when your car has to be towed you won’t have to pay for that if you have this type of coverage in place.
It is the law that you must have Ohio auto insurance and if you are not able to provide proof if you are pulled over by a law enforcement officer you will be subject to the loss of your driver’s license, suspension of your license plate and registration, and you will have to file for SR-22 insurance.